Ozisa FM presenter, Adaigbo wins state government award

Ozisa FM presenter, Adaigbo wins state government award

The Committee on Governor Hope Uzodimma Media Excellence Awards has announced Ozisa FM presenter and producer Adaeze Opara-Anyanwu popularly known as (Adaigbo) as the Most Outstanding Radio Presenter (Igbo) in the second edition of the Executive governor’s awards.

The Chairman of the committee, Chief Fidel Onyeneke announced the winners on Tuesday when he officially submitted the report of the committee to the state Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Chief Declan Emelumba in his office in Owerri, the state capital.
Chief Onyeneke who revealed that entries were narrowed to work done between January 2022 and October 2022 also explained that their criteria included Objectivity, relevance to good governance, style, language, introduction and ending.
According to Onyeneke, Faith Chichi Igwilo of the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) clinched the Most Outstanding State Correspondent award while Reginald Mbajunwa of the Imo Broadcasting Corporation (IBC) emerged winner of the Best Documentary TV Journalist of the Year.

Other winners are Chris Anucha, Editor of The Statesman Newspaper (Best Investigative Journalist); Ngozi Ejimmadu of the IBC (Best Documentary Radio Journalist); Adaeze Opara Anyanwu of Ozisa FM (;Mary Omeni Nwode of MyRadio (Most Outstanding Radio Presenter (English) and Akunna Azuike of the IBC (Most Outstanding TV Presenter).

The rest are Cosmas Chukwuemeka of Darling FM (Best Sports Reporter) and Chigozie Emeremgini of the IBC (Most Creative Cameraman TV).

Onyeneke also disclosed that the committee disqualified entries submitted for Most Outstanding Photo Journalist award because none of the entries presented evidence of the work having been used in any media platform.

The chairman added that entries for the Most Balanced Local Newspaper award failed to meet stipulated template while the committee received no entry for Most Objective Radio Station award category.

He expressed profound gratitude of the committee to the governor for encouraging the growth of journalism and promoting excellence in media practice in the state.

Chief Onyeneke also thanked the governor and the commissioner for giving the committee free hand to discharge its duty professionally.

Onyeneke however reiterated his call for regular training and retraining of journalists in the state to make for more efficient and effective service delivery.

Receiving the report, the State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Chief Declan Emelumba commended the committee for doing what he described as a ‘very thorough job’.

He noted that the award was to appreciate journalism and journalists, for their sacrifices and to encourage them to continue to serve the society.

About author


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply